IV Edition


Don Giovanni Muto

Professor Giovanni Muto, is a Neapolitan historian with a long and fruitful teaching and research career. As a professor he has developed his activity mainly at the Universities of Milan and at the Federico II of Naples, of which he was professor since 2001. He has also been a visiting professor and  developed numerous specialization courses in a number of Italian, Spanish, French and North American universities.

Trained in Economic History, he has not limited himself to the study of this, but has also worked on multiple themes of the Modern Age, having as preferred geographical centers: Naples, Spanish Italy and Spain itself of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

He has thus been interested in the management of the Treasury in Naples, Milan and Sicily; the study of various economic activities in the Italian Mezzogiorno during the Spanish period; social stratification in the Italian regional states of the Modern Age,  cultural relations between Naples and Spain; political and military organization in the Kingdom of Naples during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, or the categories of Italian political language in the Modern Age.

He has published 3 books as sole author, and 9 as co-author or scientific editor; 106 chapters in Italian books. Spanish, English, French and German; as well as 20 scientific articles in Italian, Spanish, French or English journals. In addition to many positions and recognitions, he has been president of the prestigious Societá Italiana per lo Studio dell’Etá Moderna (SISEM) (2008-2012), or member of the scientific committee and board of the Istituto Internazionale di Storia Economica “Francesco Datini” of Prato.

The jury was chaired by HRH Don Pedro de Borbón Dos Sicilias y de Orleans, Duke of Calabria, president of the Royal Council of the Orders of Santiago, Calatrava, Alcántara and Montesa.


·     Don Juan Castillejo y de Oriol, Duke of San Miguel, president of SOMOS Experiences.



·     Doña Carmen Iglesias, winner of the IV Edition of the Spanish Orders History Prize and President of the R.A. of History

·     Mrs. Ana de la Cueva Fernández, president of Patrimonio Nacional.

·     Don Marcelino Oreja y Aguirre, Marquis of Oreja, academic and honorary president of the R.A. of Moral and Political Sciences.

·     Don Hugo O’Donnell and Duke of Estrada, Duke of Tetuán, censor of the R.A. of History.

·     Don Luis Antonio Ribot García, academic of the R.A. of History.

·     Mrs. Carmen Sanz Ayán, academic of the R.A. of History.

·     Don Carlos de Palacio Oriol, president of the Talgo Foundation.

·     Don Raimundo Pérez-Hernández y Torra, director of the Ramón Areces Foundation.

·     Don Manuel Pardo de Vera, president of the Royal Association of Hidalgos of Spain.

·     Don Manuel Gullón y de Oñate, Count of Tepa, Gentleman of His Holiness.

·     Don Iñigo Moreno y de Arteaga, Marquis of Laserna, corresponding to R.A. of History.

·     Don Feliciano Barrios Pintado, secretary of the R.A. of History.

·     Mr. Ramón Pérez-Maura, opinion director of El Debate. Collaborator



·     Don Álvaro Mariátegui y Valdés.


Trustee treasurer of the Fundación Órdenes Españolas and the Premio de Historia Órdenes Españolas:

·     Don Iñigo de Churruca y Bonilla.

The award ceremony is expected to take place soon at the Royal Palace of El Pardo


Soon you will be able to subscribe to our quarterly newsletter to be aware of all our activities.